Singapore Math vs Math Mammoth
The main differences
Both cover the elementary and middle school years and split each grade into an A and a B half, with free placement tests. Singapore Math's Dimensions sets are printed textbooks, workbooks and a guide the parent teaches from. Math Mammoth puts the explanation in the worktext, written to the child, so there is little for the parent to prepare, and it is sold as a download you print. At 3rd grade the Singapore set with home instructor's guides was $169 and the Math Mammoth download $42.50.
| Singapore Math | Math Mammoth | |
|---|---|---|
| Subjects | Math | Math |
| Grades | Pre-K to 8th grade (Dimensions Math); Primary Mathematics covers the elementary grades | Kindergarten to 8th grade |
| Method | Mastery | Mastery |
| Format | Books and workbooks | Books and workbooks |
| Faith label | Secular | Secular |
| Cost a year | $169. Dimensions Math Grade 3 set with Home Instructor's Guides (textbooks, workbooks, guides, tests and printouts for both halves of the year): $169. The same set with Teacher's Guides is $152. | $42.50. Grade 3 complete curriculum as a download (two worktexts, answer keys, tests, cumulative reviews, worksheet maker): $42.50. |
| Placement | Free placement tests ↗ | Free placement tests, grades 1 to 8 ↗ |
| Parent time | Not stated by the publisher | Not stated by the publisher |
| It fits | A parent willing to learn the material and teach each lesson, with a child who likes thinking problems through rather than repeating the same steps. | A family on a tight budget that wants an open-and-go worktext the child can read and work through with growing independence. |
| It doesn't fit | A family that wants the child to work alone from the start, or an older child who already finds math hard and is switching in at 4th grade or later. | A family that wants a printed set shipped by the publisher, a scripted parent-led lesson each day, or math past 8th grade in the same series. |
Singapore Math
Singapore Math Inc. sells two core math lines: Dimensions Math, from pre-K to 8th grade, and the older Primary Mathematics series in several editions. Each grade is split into an A half and a B half, with a textbook that presents each idea, a workbook for practice and a guide the parent teaches from. An optional video course for grades 1 to 6 has a teacher present every lesson; the price below is for Dimensions Math.
Does well: One grade set holds the textbooks, workbooks, tests and home instructor's guides for the whole year, both the A and B halves.
Watch for: The parent teaches each lesson from the guide, and the publisher says it works when the adult takes time to learn the content first.
Math Mammoth
Math Mammoth Light Blue Series is a kindergarten to 8th grade math curriculum. Each grade has two worktexts, A and B, that hold both the explanations, written to the child, and the exercises, in chapters by topic. The publisher sells it as a download with answer keys, tests, cumulative reviews and a worksheet maker; printed copies come from other bookstores, and free videos by the author match grades 1 to 7.
Does well: The explanations are written to the child inside the worktext, so there is no separate teacher's manual and little lesson preparation.
Watch for: The publisher's site sells only the digital version; printed books must be ordered from other bookstores at their prices.
Lists with both
How we label
Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.
Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared