Skip to the content

The Story of the World vs History Quest

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Both build elementary history on a narrative chapter book read aloud to younger children and read alone by older ones, with a guide of weekly activities. The Story of the World runs in four volumes from ancient times to the modern age, with an Activity Book of questions, maps and projects. History Quest has Early Times, Middle Times and United States volumes, each with a study guide of 34 weekly units, and also needs an encyclopedia and literature books bought elsewhere; Middle Times in print was $101.98.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
The Story of the WorldHistory Quest
SubjectsHistory and geographyHistory and geography
GradesAbout 1st to 8th grade: Volume 1 is mainly for 1st to 4th grade and Volume 4 for 4th to 8th1st to 6th grade; United States is for 3rd to 6th, and the Modern History Bridge book reaches 7th grade
MethodClassicalLiterature-based
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelNot labelledSecular
Cost a year$53.47. Volume 2, The Middle Ages, in paperback: text $16.96 (list $19.95) and Activity Book $36.51 (list $42.95), $53.47 together on sale today. PDFs cost less.$101.98. Middle Times, 1st to 6th grade: chapter book $36.99 and study guide $64.99 in print, $101.98 together; as PDFs, $22.99 and $48.99, $71.98 together.
PlacementNone on the publisher's siteCourse map by grade ↗
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA family that wants world history told as one story in time order, read aloud together, with narration, mapping and projects for children of several ages.A family with several elementary children who wants history told as a story, with a weekly mix of crafts, mapping and writing.
It doesn't fitA family that wants a workbook course a young child can do alone, or a program that continues into high school.A family that wants a short, low-prep history workbook, or one program that runs through middle and high school.

The Story of the World

The Story of the World is a four-volume narrative world history, from ancient times to the modern age, written to be read aloud to elementary children or read alone by older ones. Each volume becomes a year of history and geography with its Activity Book: parent pages with review questions, narration exercises, reading lists and project directions, and consumable student pages with maps, puzzles and coloring pages. Volume 1 has a new edition that splits this into an Instructor Guide and a Student Workbook; tests and audiobooks are sold separately.

Does well: One volume and its Activity Book make a full year of history and geography, with review questions, narration, map work and projects laid out for the parent.

Watch for: The new Volume 1 edition and the older Activity Books do not mix, so check that the text and guide you buy are the same edition.

The full The Story of the World card · Publisher’s site ↗

History Quest

History Quest is a world and US history series for elementary grades, one time period a year: Early Times, Middle Times and United States, plus a Modern History Bridge book. Each year pairs a narrative chapter book (also sold as an audiobook) with a study guide of 34 weekly units: read and map the chapter, take an imaginary trip to the period, do a craft or recipe, write or take dictation, then read more widely. You buy the chapter book and the study guide, in print or as PDFs.

Does well: Every week follows the same five-day pattern (read, imaginary trip, create, write, enrich), so the plan is laid out for you.

Watch for: You also need The Usborne Encyclopedia of World History and several literature books, which Pandia Press does not sell with the course.

The full History Quest card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared