Skip to the content

Teaching Textbooks vs Math-U-See

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

These sit at opposite ends of how much the parent teaches. Teaching Textbooks is an app that lectures, reads problems aloud and grades every answer, starting at Math 3. Math-U-See has the parent watch a short video and then teach each new idea with blocks, from kindergarten, moving on only when the skill is secure. Teaching Textbooks suits a child who works alone on screen; Math-U-See suits a parent who wants to sit beside the child.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
Teaching TextbooksMath-U-See
SubjectsMathMath
GradesMath 3 to Pre-Calculus, one course per grade level, about 3rd to 12th gradeKindergarten to 12th grade, in 13 levels placed by skill, not grade
MethodTraditionalMastery
FormatOn screenBooks and workbooks
Faith labelSecularNot labelled
Cost a year$48.95. Math 3, one student, 12-month app enrollment: $48.95. Math 6 and 7 are $63.95; Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1 and Geometry $79.95; Algebra 2 and Pre-Calculus $83.95.$220.12. Gamma level set (multiplication): instruction manual, student workbook, tests booklet, block kit and a one-year online subscription with the lesson videos, $220.12.
PlacementPrintable placement tests ↗Online placement tool ↗
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA family that wants the math teaching and grading done for them, with a child in 3rd grade or above who is comfortable learning on a screen.A parent who wants to sit with the child, teach with hands-on blocks and move on only when each skill is secure.
It doesn't fitA family that wants to keep screen time low or teach hands-on lessons themselves, or one with a child younger than 3rd grade.A family that wants the child to learn alone from a screen, or wants a course that lines up with one school grade each year.

Teaching Textbooks

Teaching Textbooks is a math course delivered as an app, one for each grade level from Math 3 to Pre-Calculus. Each lesson starts with a recorded lecture, problems are read aloud and graded as soon as the child answers, and every problem has a step-by-step solution. You buy a 12-month enrollment per student for each course; a printed textbook with answer key is sold separately.

Does well: The app teaches and grades every lesson, so a child can work with little parent help, and a free tutor phone line is included.

Watch for: There is nothing for kindergarten to 2nd grade; the first course is Math 3.

The full Teaching Textbooks card · Publisher’s site ↗

Math-U-See

Math-U-See is a kindergarten to 12th grade math program in 13 skill levels, from Primer to Calculus, named by skill rather than grade. The parent watches the lesson video, then teaches the new idea with manipulative blocks, and the child practices it in the workbook until it is mastered before moving to review pages and the next lesson. A level set includes the instruction manual, student workbook, tests booklet, block kit and a one-year online subscription with the lesson videos.

Does well: Each level centers on one area, such as multiplication or fractions, and the child moves on only after showing they can do and explain the skill.

Watch for: The parent presents each new lesson with the child using the blocks, so this is not a course a young child works through alone.

The full Math-U-See card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared