Teaching Textbooks vs CTCMath
The main differences
Both teach on screen and mark the work for you. Teaching Textbooks is one app per course from Math 3, with a recorded lecture and every problem read aloud; each course is a 12-month enrollment for one student. CTCMath opens every level from kindergarten to calculus with one membership of short video lessons, and its family plan covers more than one child. Teaching Textbooks has a 15-lesson free trial; CTCMath offers a refund if asked within 365 days.
| Teaching Textbooks | CTCMath | |
|---|---|---|
| Subjects | Math | Math |
| Grades | Math 3 to Pre-Calculus, one course per grade level, about 3rd to 12th grade | Kindergarten to 12th grade, through Pre-Calculus and Calculus |
| Method | Traditional | Traditional |
| Format | On screen | On screen |
| Faith label | Secular | Secular |
| Cost a year | $48.95. Math 3, one student, 12-month app enrollment: $48.95. Math 6 and 7 are $63.95; Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1 and Geometry $79.95; Algebra 2 and Pre-Calculus $83.95. | $257. Single membership, one student: $257 for 12 months, or $39.90 a month, which is $478.80 for 12 months. A family membership for more than one student is $397 a year or $59.90 a month. |
| Placement | Printable placement tests ↗ | None on the publisher's site |
| Parent time | Not stated by the publisher | Not stated by the publisher |
| It fits | A family that wants the math teaching and grading done for them, with a child in 3rd grade or above who is comfortable learning on a screen. | A family that wants short video lessons with automatic marking, including several children of different ages on one family plan. |
| It doesn't fit | A family that wants to keep screen time low or teach hands-on lessons themselves, or one with a child younger than 3rd grade. | A family that wants to keep screen time low, or wants hands-on, parent-led lessons from printed books. |
Teaching Textbooks
Teaching Textbooks is a math course delivered as an app, one for each grade level from Math 3 to Pre-Calculus. Each lesson starts with a recorded lecture, problems are read aloud and graded as soon as the child answers, and every problem has a step-by-step solution. You buy a 12-month enrollment per student for each course; a printed textbook with answer key is sold separately.
Does well: The app teaches and grades every lesson, so a child can work with little parent help, and a free tutor phone line is included.
Watch for: There is nothing for kindergarten to 2nd grade; the first course is Math 3.
CTCMath
CTCMath is an online math program for kindergarten to 12th grade, from early number work through calculus. Each lesson is a narrated video tutorial of about 4 to 9 minutes, followed by interactive questions or a printable worksheet that is marked automatically, with worked solutions and progress reports for the parent. One membership opens every grade level and is billed monthly or yearly.
Does well: One membership opens every lesson from kindergarten to calculus, so a child can go back to fill gaps or move ahead without buying again.
Watch for: Almost all the work happens on a screen; the printable worksheets are optional.
Lists with both
How we label
Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.
Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared