Skip to the content

Oak Meadow vs Blossom and Root

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Both draw on Waldorf ideas, with nature, stories, art and hands-on projects. Oak Meadow sells printed coursebooks from pre-K to 12th grade, and up to 3rd grade one coursebook of 36 weekly lessons covers every subject, math included; the 3rd grade print package was $584.25 on sale. Blossom and Root is PDF only, runs from preschool to 6th grade, leaves out math, spelling, handwriting and history, and its 3rd grade full bundle was $162. All of Blossom and Root's sales are final.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
Oak MeadowBlossom and Root
SubjectsAll subjects: math, language arts, science and history and geographyLanguage arts and science
GradesPre-K to 12th gradePreschool to 6th grade (Level 6 still being finished)
MethodWaldorfCharlotte Mason, Waldorf
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelSecularSecular
Cost a year$584.25. 3rd Grade Package in print (coursebook for all subjects, resource book, cursive workbook, recorder songbook and literature books): $584.25 on sale, list price $615. A digital version is $327.60 on sale (list $468). A teaching guide, crafts book and health book are recommended extras.$162. Third Grade (Level 3) Full Bundle, PDF downloads for a year of science, language arts and literature, nature study and art: $162 in the publisher's own online store. Books, supplies and math are not included.
PlacementNone on the publisher's siteNone on the publisher's site
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA family that wants a gentle, arts-rich year in print, with stories, crafts and nature woven into each week.A family that wants a gentle, hands-on year built around nature, books and art, and is happy to choose its own math.
It doesn't fitA family that wants a low-cost plan, lessons on a screen, or a program the child works through alone.A family that wants every subject in one box, printed books, or a program that carries on into middle school.

Oak Meadow

Oak Meadow is a Waldorf-inspired curriculum from preschool to 12th grade, sold as print coursebooks (or digital) for families to teach at home; its enrolled distance-learning school is a separate option. From kindergarten to 3rd grade each grade is one coursebook of 36 weekly lessons, each with a story, covering language arts, math, science, social studies, art, music and crafts, along with a resource book and literature. Children in the early grades spend about 3 to 4 hours a day on the work.

Does well: Kindergarten to 3rd grade fits in one coursebook per grade, with weekly planners, assignment checklists and a materials list.

Watch for: The 3rd grade package is $584.25 on sale, and the teaching guide, crafts book and health book are recommended extras.

The full Oak Meadow card · Publisher’s site ↗

Blossom and Root

Blossom and Root is a nature-based curriculum inspired by Charlotte Mason and Waldorf, sold as PDF downloads from preschool to 6th grade. A grade level such as Level 3 gives 36 weeks of weekly prompts for science, literature read-alouds, narration, copywork and journaling, nature study and art, and you can buy the full bundle or single subjects. Math, books and supplies are not part of a grade bundle, and U.S. history is sold as separate volumes.

Does well: Each week of Level 3 typically takes about 30 to 45 minutes for the parent to prepare, and supplies are kept minimal.

Watch for: Math, spelling, handwriting and history are not in the grade bundles, so you add them yourself.

The full Blossom and Root card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared