Skip to the content

Math-U-See vs RightStart Mathematics

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Both are hands-on and parent-led. Math-U-See uses blocks and a short lesson video for the parent, and a level set includes a one-year video subscription. RightStart uses an abacus grouped in fives and tens and card games for fact practice, from a day-by-day lessons book. RightStart's manipulatives set is bought once per family, which makes the first year cost more; Math-U-See continues through high school, while RightStart ends in middle school.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
Math-U-SeeRightStart Mathematics
SubjectsMathMath
GradesKindergarten to 12th grade, in 13 levels placed by skill, not gradeLevels A to H; Level B is 1st grade and Levels G and H are middle school, so about kindergarten to 7th grade
MethodMasteryTraditional, Mastery
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelNot labelledSecular
Cost a year$220.12. Gamma level set (multiplication): instruction manual, student workbook, tests booklet, block kit and a one-year online subscription with the lesson videos, $220.12.$329. Level D book bundle (lessons, appendix pages and worksheet PDF): $109.25, plus the RS2 Math Set of manipulatives, bought once per family, $219.75. First year $329; later levels need only the next book bundle.
PlacementOnline placement tool ↗Free online placement test ↗
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA parent who wants to sit with the child, teach with hands-on blocks and move on only when each skill is secure.A parent who wants to teach math hands-on, with an abacus and card games, and is happy to lead a lesson each day.
It doesn't fitA family that wants the child to learn alone from a screen, or wants a course that lines up with one school grade each year.A family that wants a young child to work alone from a book or screen, or one that cannot spend more in the first year for manipulatives.

Math-U-See

Math-U-See is a kindergarten to 12th grade math program in 13 skill levels, from Primer to Calculus, named by skill rather than grade. The parent watches the lesson video, then teaches the new idea with manipulative blocks, and the child practices it in the workbook until it is mastered before moving to review pages and the next lesson. A level set includes the instruction manual, student workbook, tests booklet, block kit and a one-year online subscription with the lesson videos.

Does well: Each level centers on one area, such as multiplication or fractions, and the child moves on only after showing they can do and explain the skill.

Watch for: The parent presents each new lesson with the child using the blocks, so this is not a course a young child works through alone.

The full Math-U-See card · Publisher’s site ↗

RightStart Mathematics

RightStart Mathematics is a hands-on math program in levels A to H, from kindergarten into middle school. The parent teaches from a day-by-day lessons book using an abacus grouped in fives and tens, and the child practices facts through math card games instead of flash cards, with worksheets alongside. Each year you buy that level's book bundle, plus, once per family, a set of manipulatives used across the elementary levels.

Does well: The lessons book tells the parent what to teach and how, day by day, with card games built in for fact practice.

Watch for: The first year costs more because the $219.75 manipulatives set is needed once per family.

The full RightStart Mathematics card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared