Skip to the content

Math Mammoth vs Horizons Math

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Both are workbook programs for kindergarten to 8th grade. Math Mammoth is written to the child, finishes a topic before moving on, and is a download you print. Horizons is parent-led from a teacher's guide with colorful printed workbooks, and topics come back in a spiral through the year. A 3rd grade year was $42.50 for the Math Mammoth download and $120 for the Horizons box set.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
Math MammothHorizons Math
SubjectsMathMath
GradesKindergarten to 8th gradeKindergarten to 8th grade, ending with Algebra I
MethodMasteryTraditional
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelSecularFaith-based
Cost a year$42.50. Grade 3 complete curriculum as a download (two worktexts, answer keys, tests, cumulative reviews, worksheet maker): $42.50.$120. 3rd grade Math Box Set (two student books and the teacher's guide with answer keys): $120. The student worksheet packet is $16.25 extra.
PlacementFree placement tests, grades 1 to 8 ↗Free math readiness evaluations ↗
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA family on a tight budget that wants an open-and-go worktext the child can read and work through with growing independence.A parent who wants to teach from a step-by-step guide each day, with colorful workbooks and steady review of earlier topics.
It doesn't fitA family that wants a printed set shipped by the publisher, a scripted parent-led lesson each day, or math past 8th grade in the same series.A family that wants the child to work on their own, or a program that finishes one topic before moving to the next.

Math Mammoth

Math Mammoth Light Blue Series is a kindergarten to 8th grade math curriculum. Each grade has two worktexts, A and B, that hold both the explanations, written to the child, and the exercises, in chapters by topic. The publisher sells it as a download with answer keys, tests, cumulative reviews and a worksheet maker; printed copies come from other bookstores, and free videos by the author match grades 1 to 7.

Does well: The explanations are written to the child inside the worktext, so there is no separate teacher's manual and little lesson preparation.

Watch for: The publisher's site sells only the digital version; printed books must be ordered from other bookstores at their prices.

The full Math Mammoth card · Publisher’s site ↗

Horizons Math

Horizons Math is a parent-led math curriculum from kindergarten to 8th grade, ending with Pre-Algebra and Algebra I. The parent teaches each day from a teacher's guide with step-by-step lessons and answer keys, and the child works in two colorful student workbooks; the 3rd grade set, for example, has 160 lessons. Topics come back again and again in a spiral, each time a little harder, as new material is added.

Does well: The teacher's guide gives step-by-step daily lessons, learning goals, a materials list and answer keys, so the parent knows what to do each day.

Watch for: The publisher says it needs active parent involvement: the parent teaches each lesson and checks the work with the answer keys.

The full Horizons Math card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared