Skip to the content

Heart of Dakota vs My Father's World

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Both plan a year of living books, narration and hands-on work from one teacher's guide, from preschool through high school. Heart of Dakota lays out each day on a two-page spread, says a 2nd or 3rd grader's day takes about 3 to 3 and a half hours, and sells a year as a core package plus science, math and grammar packages, which came to $677.06 on sale. My Father's World puts children from 4th to 8th grade into one shared family cycle; its 3rd grade package was $385.74 before math and language arts.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
Heart of DakotaMy Father's World
SubjectsAll subjects: math, language arts, science and history and geographyAll subjects: math, reading and phonics, language arts, science and history and geography
GradesPreschool to 12th gradePreschool (from age 2) to 12th grade
MethodCharlotte Mason, Unit studiesCharlotte Mason, Classical, Unit studies, Literature-based
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelFaith-basedFaith-based
Cost a year$677.06. Guide for grades 2 and 3, at sale prices: Economy Package (teacher's guide plus books for subjects including history, geography, spelling, poetry and art) $255.80, Science Package $342.28, and the lowest-priced Basic Package with grammar and Singapore Math $78.98, together $677.06 (list prices $294.02, $402.68 and $89.74). Reading sets, read-alouds, handwriting and consumables are extra.$385.74. 3rd grade World Changers package (teacher's manual with daily lesson plans, plus the history, science, art and music books): $385.74 today, 20% off $482.17. Math and language arts are required and bought separately.
PlacementGuide placement charts ↗None on the publisher's site
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA parent who wants open-and-go daily plans built on living books, with a known length of school day and a choice of math program.A family teaching several children that wants one plan for history, science and the arts, with books, notebooking and hands-on projects.
It doesn't fitA family that wants one box with every subject at one price, or lessons taught mostly on a screen.A family that wants every subject in one box, or a child who works alone on a screen.

Heart of Dakota

Heart of Dakota is a Charlotte Mason-inspired curriculum taught in a unit-study way, built around one teacher's guide a year from preschool through high school. Each guide gives open-and-go daily plans on a two-page spread, with living books for history and science, narration, copywork, dictation and poetry. The guide for grades 2 and 3 runs 34 weeks, five days a week, about 3 to 3½ hours a day for the child, and you buy it in a core package and add packages for science, math and grammar, reading and more.

Does well: Each day is laid out on a two-page spread with every subject in its own box, so the parent can open the guide and teach.

Watch for: The core package does not include science, math or grammar, so a full year means buying several packages.

The full Heart of Dakota card · Publisher’s site ↗

My Father's World

My Father's World is a curriculum for preschool to 12th grade that teaches history, science, art, music and much of language arts from one teacher's manual with daily lesson plans, read-aloud books, notebooking and hands-on projects. From 4th to 8th grade, children of several ages study the same package together in a five-year cycle. Math, and from 2nd grade the grade-level language arts books, are bought separately; the publisher recommends Dimensions Math.

Does well: One primary teacher's manual guides all subjects, with daily lesson plans in a weekly chart, so the parent does not have to plan.

Watch for: Math is not in the packages and is bought separately, and families new to the recommended Dimensions Math must take its placement test first.

The full My Father's World card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared