Skip to the content

Classical Conversations vs Memoria Press Classical Core Curriculum

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Both are classical, with memory work and Latin, from the early years through high school. Classical Conversations is built around a local community that meets one day a week, with parents tutoring small groups and families repeating the work at home; its prices come from the local community, not the publisher's site. Memoria Press sells a boxed set for each grade with a curriculum manual that plans every day, plus the student books and teacher guides; the 3rd grade set was $821.28 on sale.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
Classical ConversationsMemoria Press Classical Core Curriculum
SubjectsAll subjects: math, language arts, science and history and geographyAll subjects: math, language arts, science and history and geography
GradesAges 4 to 18, about pre-K to 12th gradePreschool to 12th grade
MethodClassicalClassical
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelFaith-basedFaith-based
Cost a yearNo price on the publisher's own site when we checked.$821.28. Third Grade Curriculum Set (curriculum manual with daily lesson plans, plus student books, teacher guides and flashcards for subjects including Latin, spelling, grammar, literature, classical studies, math, science, writing, cursive and states and capitals; weekly read-aloud books not included): $821.28 on sale, list price $1,143.77.
PlacementNone on the publisher's siteNone on the publisher's site
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA family that wants a weekly group day with other homeschoolers and a classical memory-work plan, with the parent teaching at home the rest of the week.A parent who wants a classical, Latin-centered year planned day by day, with the books and teacher guides for every subject in one box.
It doesn't fitA family with no community nearby, or one that wants a complete boxed course with a listed price and every subject taught in full at home.A family on a tight budget, or one that wants short, light school days or lessons a child works through alone on a screen.

Classical Conversations

Classical Conversations is a classical homeschool program built around local communities that gather once a week during the school year. On community day, trained parents act as tutors for small groups, and families carry on the same work at home on the other days. Foundations (age 4 and up) covers history, geography, science, English, math and Latin as memory work in a three-year cycle, Essentials (age 9 and up) adds grammar, writing and math drills, and Challenge (age 12 and up) runs through high school.

Does well: A weekly community day gives children small-group lessons and practice beside other families, and parents watch the tutor model the work they will repeat at home.

Watch for: Tuition and fees are not listed on the publisher's site; you learn them from a local community, and you need one that meets near you.

The full Classical Conversations card · Publisher’s site ↗

Memoria Press Classical Core Curriculum

Memoria Press sells a classical curriculum set for each grade from preschool to 12th grade, with Latin from the early grades beside literature, history, grammar, writing, math and science. Each set comes with a curriculum manual that plans every day, plus the student books, teacher guides, flashcards and some streaming lessons for the year. You can buy the full set, a set of only the consumables, or ask to customize a set by phone or email.

Does well: Each grade set includes a curriculum manual with daily lesson plans, so the parent does not have to plan the year.

Watch for: The 3rd grade set is $821.28 on sale and over $1,100 at list price, and the weekly read-aloud books are sold separately.

The full Memoria Press Classical Core Curriculum card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared