Skip to the content

Abeka vs The Good and the Beautiful

Checked October 29, 2026No affiliate links. Programs never pay to appear.

The main differences

Abeka sells a school-style year: a kit of textbooks, readers, workbooks and tests for each subject, with 170 days of lesson plans for a parent who teaches each lesson, at over $1,000 for 3rd grade. The Good and the Beautiful sells open-and-go course books, with one language arts book covering reading, spelling, writing and grammar, a 3rd grade bundle of $147.94, and family-style science and history bought separately. Abeka runs through 12th grade; The Good and the Beautiful's high school covers language arts and biology only.

Rows where the two differ are shaded. Every fact is from the publisher’s own site.
AbekaThe Good and the Beautiful
SubjectsAll subjects: math, reading and phonics, language arts, science and history and geographyMath, reading and phonics, language arts, science and history and geography
GradesPre-K (K4) to 12th gradePreschool to 12th grade; high school has language arts and biology only
MethodTraditionalTraditional, Unit studies
FormatBooks and workbooksBooks and workbooks
Faith labelFaith-basedFaith-based
Cost a year$1,094.05. 3rd grade child kit (26 items: textbooks, readers, workbooks and quiz and test books) plus the essential parent kit (lesson plans, teaching charts, answer keys): $1,094.05 on sale today, list price $1,215.55.$147.94. Level 3 basic bundle (language arts course book, spelling practice book and four read-together books; handwriting workbook; math course book and math box of manipulatives): $147.94. Science units and a history course are bought separately, one set per family.
PlacementNone on the publisher's siteFree placement tests ↗
Parent timeNot stated by the publisherNot stated by the publisher
It fitsA parent who wants a complete, school-style year in one order, with the lesson plans written out and the option of video teachers later.A family that wants low-cost, open-and-go printed lessons and likes teaching science and history to several children at once.
It doesn't fitA family on a tight budget, or one that wants a child-led pace, living books or project-based learning instead of textbooks and tests.A family that needs a complete high school program, or one that wants the child to learn mostly alone on a screen.

Abeka

Abeka sells a full set of textbooks, readers and workbooks for each grade from pre-K (K4) to 12th grade, covering language arts, reading, arithmetic, history and science. In the parent-led option the child works from a child kit of books and test booklets while the parent teaches from a parent kit with 170 days of lesson plans and answer keys. Abeka Academy pairs the same books with a year of recorded video lessons on streaming or DVD, for a higher price.

Does well: A full grade comes as one kit with every textbook, reader, workbook and test booklet the child needs for the core subjects.

Watch for: One grade with the parent kit costs over $1,000 even on sale, and the video option costs more again.

The full Abeka card · Publisher’s site ↗

The Good and the Beautiful

The Good and the Beautiful sells separate courses by level: language arts (reading, phonics, spelling, writing and grammar in one course book), math, handwriting, and family-style science units and history courses that children of different ages do together. Lessons are open-and-go from printed course books, and the kindergarten to 8th grade language arts and math courses are also free to download as PDFs. A grade bundle covers language arts, handwriting and math; science and history are chosen and bought separately.

Does well: The kindergarten to 8th grade language arts and math courses are free to download as PDFs, so you can try them or use them at no cost.

Watch for: Science and history are not in the grade bundles: the publisher suggests 3 to 5 science units and one history course a year, bought separately.

The full The Good and the Beautiful card · Publisher’s site ↗

Lists with both

How we label

Every fact on a card was read on the publisher's own website on the date shown, and the page it came from is linked. A fact we could not confirm there is left out. Costs are for one child and one year of the main package, as the publisher's page showed them that day; prices and sales change. Method and format are the publisher's own description where it gives one. The only thing we say about religion is one label, secular or faith-based, given by the rule above; where the publisher's pages don't settle it, the card has no label.

Something wrong or out of date? Send a correction; publishers can send corrections, never money. Every program compared